Tax working group revealed

The Dominion Post, Wellington by Laura Walters 21 Dec 2017

The Government has released the names of the people charged with making the tax system “fairer”.

One of Labour’s election promises was to establish a tax working group to look at the structure, fairness and balance of the tax system.

During the election campaign there had been a lot of talk about the possibility of a capital gains tax, however, Labour later said no new taxes would come into effect until after the 2020 election.

Last month, the Government announced the parameters of the working group, and the appointment of former deputy prime minister and finance minister Sir Michael Cullen as the chairman.

Finance Minister Grant Robertson said: “the wide range of expertise and experience among the membership means the working group is well placed to consider changes to make our tax system fairer.”

Along with Cullen, the 10 members are: Professor Craig Elliffe, University of Auckland; Joanne Hodge, former tax partner at Bell Gully; Kirk Hope, chief executive of Business New Zealand; Nick Malarao, senior partner at Meredith Connell; Geof Nightingale, partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers New Zealand; Robin Oliver, former deputy commissioner at Inland Revenue; Hinerangi Raumati, chairwoman of Parininihi ki Waitotara Inc; Michelle Redington, head of group taxation and insurance at Air New Zealand; Bill Rosenberg, economist and director of policy at the CTU; Marjan Van Den Belt, assistant vice-chancellor (sustainability) at Victoria University of Wellington.

Revenue Minister Stuart Nash said it was a “good mix of people”.

The group would also look at how the tax system could promote the long-term sustainability and productivity of the economy, Nash said.

“New Zealand faces significant opportunities and challenges in the future of our economy. It is prudent to start thinking now about how we respond.”

The group’s first meeting would be held near the end of next month.

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *